Diplomatic relations between the Republic of the Philippines and the French Republic were formally established in Paris on 26 June 1947, following the signing of a Treaty of Friendship by then Philippine Vice President and concurrent Secretary of Foreign Affairs Elpidio Quirino and French Foreign Minister M. Georges Bidault.

From the 16th century age of discovery and exploration up to the present, the Philippines-France relationship has flourished through the years, not just in the political and diplomatic fields, but also in the economic and sociocultural fields.

The Philippines and France have had vibrant exchanges, starting with the sojourn in France of Philippine national hero, Dr. Jose Rizal, where he wrote parts of Noli me Tangere and completed El Filibusterismo while living in the French seaside town of Biarritz.
Several bilateral agreements have also been concluded between the two countries in the fields of agriculture, air services, culture, defense, higher education, social security, taxation and trade, among others.

The following have served as Ambassadors to France: Octavio Leopoldo Maloles (1951-1954); Salvador P. Lopez (1955-1962); Jose Alejandrino (1963-1969); Luis Salcedo Moreno (1969-1979); Felipe Hugo Mabilangan, Jr. (1979-1988); Felicidad B. Gonzales (1988-1990); Rosario Gonzales Manalo (1990-1994); Rora Navarro Tolentino (1994-1997); Hector Kantoy Villaroel (1997-2005); Jose Abeto Zaide , Jr. (2006-2008); Rora Navarro Tolentino (2008-2011); Cristina G. Ortega (2011-2014); Ma. Theresa P. Lazaro (2014-2020).

The Embassy has jurisdiction over Monaco while the Philippine Ambassador to France also serves as the Permanent Delegation of the Republic of the Philippines to the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO).